Bangalore University

Bangalore University, Bangalore was established in 1964 as an off shoot of University of Mysore, primarily to include institutions of higher learning located in the metropolitan city and the districts of Bangalore, Kolar and Tumkur which eventually became a separate university. Initially, the two premier colleges of the city, the Central College and the University Visvesvaraya College of engineering formed the nucleus of Bangalore University. The vision of the university is to promote excellence in education for a vibrant and inclusive society through knowledge creation and dissemination.

In 1964, Bangalore University has grown both in size and strength to include a large number of affiliated colleges, P.G. Centers with a rich diversity of programme options. In consonance with this expansion, in 1973, the University moved into a new campus named ‘Jnana Bharathi’ (JB) located on a sprawling 1100 acres of land and shifted many of its post graduate departments to this newly established campus. Since 1973, the University is functioning from both the campuses the main campus at Jnana Bharathi and the City Campus at Central College.

The University was first accredited in 2002 by NAAC with Five Star Status and was re-accredited in the year 2008 with ‘A’ Grade. It has 43 post graduate departments; one post graduate Centre at Kolar, three constituent colleges, 665 affiliated colleges (of which 115 have PG Courses) and several other Centres and Directorates of higher learning and research under its purview.

Campus of Bangalore University -

The Bangalore University has two campuses such as Central College Campus and Jnana Bharathi Campus. At present the JB Campus houses the office of the Vice Chancellor, Registrar, Registrar (Evaluation), Finance Officer and a large number of post graduate departments, Directorates, Centers of higher learning, NSS Bhavan, Outdoor Stadium and other support services.

Facilities at Bangalore University -

  • Library
  • Laboratories
  • Classrooms
  • Canteen
  • Cricket Ground
  • Guest House
  • Health Center
  • Hostel
  • Workshops/Seminars
  • Senate Hall
  • Placements
  • Sports
  • Auditorium

Constituent Colleges at Bangalore University –

  • University Visvesvaraya College of Engineering (Engineering – UVCE)
  • University Law College
  • University College of Physical Education

PG Departments at Bangalore University –

  • Department of Arts
  • Department of Commerce and Management
  • UGC-Human Resource Development Centre
  • Department of Engineering
  • Department of Law
  • Department of Science

Placements at Bangalore University –

The University has established a Centralized Placement Cell at the Canara Bank School of Management Studies, Central College. The Centre will cater to the pre – placement training and placement needs of Post Graduate students of Jnana Bharathi and Central College Campus.